The Carrollton Market was located on Dublin Street at Maple.
It first opened in 1847 in the City
of Carrollton near the Carrollton Hotel and beer gardens of this primarily German settlement along the Mississippi River.
Seafood, meat, and produce, unloaded from the wharf provided many selections. In the early years the Carrollton railroad
brought New Orleanians to the City of Carrollton, pulled by mules, then horses, then propelled by steam until 1893 when the
electric streetcars ran. It is the oldest continually operating railway line in the world, still running near
what would have been (had it survived) one of the oldest markets in the entire city. Folks who lived along the batture
brought live catfish and fresh shrimp to the market as well as clothing and clothes-poles made from shoreline willow trees, firewood
which had been scooped up as river driftwood, and boards salvaged from old abandoned barges.
The market was franchised
to Albin Spiess in 1893 for a period of three years at $1500 per year.
In 1903 the market was valued at
An historical marker in Dublin Park (the site of the original market) tells that "Vendors behind
stands and pushcarts hawked offerings in a dozen accents and patois and the air was filled with a tangy blend of odors".